Getting back on topic somewhat, Chickens are 11 weeks old. 2 months to eggs!

Chickies happy to see me!

Chickies happy to see me!

Starting to get their combs

Starting to get their combs

The big girl Minerva

The big girl Minerva


I know the last post was weird and had nothing to do with chickens but we are back on track. They are getting big and developing their combs and wattles, starting to look like adult chickens. Their personalities are getting established as well. Theresa and I love to take treats out to the girls to surprise them and they come running full throttle. It is so comical. I will have to try and get a video embedded to show you. They are a lot more fun to raise than either my wife or myself anticipated as well as easy. Aside from the obvious of keeping them safe in a coop of some form, as well as warm when young, fed and watered. They are about the simplest animal we have taken care of. We have had fish, tropical, salt and brackish, cats, dogs, hamsters, guinea pigs, ferrets, cockatiels, African love birds, parakeets, rabbits and children. They are by far the easiest. They have not been very stinky like I was a bit worried about. As long as the wood chip fluff is 2 inches deep, the odor is minimal, and we change it out fairly regular. You can’t even tell until you get right up inside the coop. I know that a few of our friends are living vicariously through us to see how bad the hassle is. I have got to say, minimal hassle so far, and I’d do it again.
Flowers came out nice this year

Flowers came out nice this year


Smallest garden ever

Smallest garden ever


View from our pool to backyard

View from our pool to backyard


Orange dragonfly landed on me while taking pictures

Orange dragonfly landed on me while taking pictures


Just a few pictures from around our house.

About mommacat2014

Figuring out the way to raise chickens and enjoy delicious eggs
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

